Since its inception in 1995 as a trim level for the iconic Subaru Legacy Wagon, the Subaru Outback – now a distinct model –  has defied categorization. Neither a typical SUV nor what we normally see as a crossover, the high-riding all-wheel drive wagon brings together utility, creature comforts, and the ability to go places other wagons and crossovers dare not tread. Showing its Legacy roots, the Outback shares some features with its older, more reserved kin, but rumbles down its own ruggedly independent path.

The 2017 Subaru Outback, redesigned in 2015, comes in six trim levels, equipped with either a four-cylinder or six-cylinder engine depending upon trim level. Outback 2.5-based models sport a horizontally opposed four-cylinder 2.5-liter engine, which pushes out 175 horsepower – a continuing evolution of the “boxer” engine famous among Subaru fans for its reliability and stability enhancing low center of gravity. Upscale 3.6-based models are powered by Subaru’s 3.6-liter six-cylinder. The flat six, now a staple powerplant in Subaru’s lineup, cranks out 256 horsepower.

The Outback’s trim levels indicate engine displacement. They are:

  • 5i – $25,645 MSRP
  • 5i Premium – $27,695 MSRP
  • 5i Limited – $32,390 MSRP
  • 5i Touring – $35,995 MSRP
  • 6R – $34,995 MSRP
  • 6R Touring – $38,195 MSRP
This article was worked on by a variety of people from the Autoversed team, including freelancers, editors, and/or other full-time employees.